We Lost The Sea - Departure Songs - Sydney Album Launch w/ Hope Drone, Serious Beak, Lo!, Tanned Christ, Owl Mountain

Join us to celebrate the release of our 3rd album 'Departure Songs' at the Factory Floor in August where we'll be playing the album in full and joined by some special guests in the process. 

This will be a double headlining bill as we'll be joined by Brisbane's grvm merchants Hope Drone, as they are releasing their new album 'Cloak of Ash' through the Relapse Records. We will also be touring to Melbourne and Brisbane as part of these release shows. 

There'll be a food truck on the day and our very own Nathaniel D'Ugo and his wife Alyssa, the ice cream master, with their Paper Street Ice Cream cart, there as well. You do not want to miss out on this ice cream. 

Supports on the day will be from some of our good mates and their rad bands.

Line up:
We Lost The Sea (Album Launch)

Hope Drone (Album Launch)

Serious Beak


Tanned Christ 

Owl Mountain

Pre-sale: $20 +bf
Door: $25

Tickets available via the Factory website

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/events/374911096039249/

Sydney-based, cinematic post-metal six-piece We Lost the Sea return with their third full-length album, Departure Songs.

We Lost The Sea have faced considerable challenges in recording their third album, Departure Songs. Being their first release since the passing of their vocalist, Chris Torpy, the album is entirely instrumental, with a heavy focus on evocative composition and intelligently layered instrumentation.

The result is something to behold: with the help of engineer Tim Carr at 301 Studios (Matt Corby, Mere Women, Adrift for Days) We Lost The Sea have created an expansive, cinematic masterpiece that shifts between periods of delicate vulnerability and brooding introspection, to peaks of soaring triumph and tragic implosion.

The album is inspired by failed, yet epic and honourable journeys or events throughout history - moments when people have done extraordinary things for the greater good, and for the progress of the human race itself. 

As guitarist Matt Harvey explains, “We’re exploring new ground and exploring ourselves in the past two and a bit years since our vocalist Chris went on his own journey. It’s slightly bleak with shimmers of hope and layers of many things. It’s a tribute and a catharsis of emotion and it’s also really honest.” 

There is no denying that with Departure Songs, We Lost the Sea have placed themselves at the very forefront of intelligent, instrumental music. This is further solidified with their recent run of international supports, having proved themselves alongside heavyweights such as Boris, Earth, Pelican, and Jakob.

Departure Songs is a musical triumph; a perfectly formed artistic statement from a band who has always sought honest and cathartic self-expression. Fan of groups such as Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Mogwai, Sigur Ros and Cult of Luna should waste no time in exploring the incredible sonic depth of We Lost The Sea’s Departure Songs.

Departure Songs sees release through Bird’s Robe Records and Art As Catharsis on 23 July 2015. Their debut single, A Gallant Gentleman, is available now.